Tom Jones to get his DNA tested for black ancestry

Hmm, I guess for Tom Jones it is not unusual for people to ask him does he have any black heritage. The 75-year-old Welshman gained success in the music industry over 50 years with hits like “It’s Not Unusual,” “What’s New Pussycat” and “She’s a Lady.”

Recently in an interview with Times of London, Jones discussed growing up. He plans to get his DNA tested to find out if he has some black ancestry. Jones, whose parents were Welsh and English, said his signature baritone voice and thick, curly hair has prompted questions about his race for years.

“A lot of people still think I’m black,” Jones said. “When I first came to America, people who had heard me sing on the radio would be surprised that I was white when they saw me. Because of my hair a lot of black people still tell me I’m just passing as white.”

His mother got similar queries when she gave birth to him, Jones noted.

“When I was born, my mother came out in big dark patches all over her body,” he said. “They asked if she had any black blood and she said she didn’t know. I’m going to get my DNA tested. I want to find out.”

Leave a Reply

