Iggy Azalea Didn’t Hear Demi Lovato’s Collaboration ‘Kingdom Come’ Before Recording Her Part

Iggy Azalea and Demi Lovato proved their best-friend status when the rapper joined Lovato during her performance of “Cool For The Summer” on the MTV Video Music Awards Sunday (Aug. 30). But the two apparently know each other so well, Azalea didn’t even need to hear her collaboration with Lovato before recording her part.

Azalea will be featured on Lovato’s forthcoming fifth LP, Confident, on a track called “Kingdom Come.” Lovato explained to MTV News how their collab came together — and how Azalea knew exactly what to do without any idea what the song sounded like.

“When we finally made the decision of which songs were making the album I said, ‘OK, I want her on this one.’ So I called her and was like, ’Hey will you do a song?’ And she’s like, ’Yeah sure I’ll go into the studio tonight,'” Lovato said. “I was like, ’Do you want to hear it first?’ She’s like, ’No it’s cool.’ I’m like, ‘You’re an amazing friend and I love you.’”

Despite the bilnd recording, Lovato added that Azalea’s part ended up fitting perfectly into the tune. “I was a fan of her before we were friends, so I feel like I knew what it would sound like,” she said. “And I was just excited to hear it back, it was so much more than I even expected.”

Lovato recently told Billboard that the close friends’ sounds “really meshed well” on “Kingdom Come,” partially because she felt the other half of the collaboration belonged to Azalea all along.

“I wanted [Iggy] to be on this album from the first time that I heard that song, even before we knew each other,” she told us. “And then we became good friends, and so it was kind of a situation where it was like, we have to work together.”

credit: billboard.com

Leave a Reply

