Xbox One Gets Steam-Style Free Weekend for NBA 2K15

As the real-world NBA playoffs roll on, Microsoft has announced a new, Steam-style free weekend event for NBA 2K15, the latest professional basketball game from 2K Sports.

All Xbox Live Gold members can download and play NBA 2K15 for free starting at 12 PM PDT / 3 PM EDT on Friday, April 24. The free play weekend ends at 12:01 AM PDT / 3:01 AM EDT on Monday, April 27.

Microsoft explains in a post on the Xbox Wire that the version of NBA 2K15 available to play for free this weekend is the full game, and notes that progress will carry forward should you decide to buy it. Microsoft is also offering all virtual currency for NBA 2K15 on Xbox One at 33 percent off all weekend long.

Whether or not you buy NBA 2K15, however, you’ll get to keep any achievements you unlock during the weekend.

This isn’t the first free play weekend event Microsoft has held on Xbox One. Previously, Microsoft has allowed subscribers to play Forza Motorsport 5 and Sunset Overdrive free for a limited time. These types of free play weekends are commonplace on Valve’s PC Steam platform, but are still somewhat rare on console.

If you’d rather play EA Sports’ latest NBA offering–NBA Live 15–that game is also free to play on Xbox One, but you’ll need an EA Access membership ($5/month) to get started.

credit:gamespot.com

Advertisements

One thought on “Xbox One Gets Steam-Style Free Weekend for NBA 2K15

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s